Phone: 602-721-3680     Contact Us
Products & Services

Description Of The ISO Process

ISO has been developing voluntary technical standards over almost all sectors of business, industry and technology since 1947. The vast majority of ISO standards are highly specific to a particular product, material, or process. However, both ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 are known as generic management system standards.

ISO's management system standards are implemented (registered) by more than 1,000,000 organizations around the world in 158 countries including the United States!

The ISO 9000 standards are a series of international quality management standards and guidelines. Since their initial publication in 1987, they have earned a global reputation as the basis for establishing Quality Management Systems (QMS). ISO 9001, has been used extensively as the basis for independent (third party) quality system certification. This has resulted in the certification of over 1,000,000 organizations worldwide, with many more in the process of setting up and implementing quality management systems.

Since ISO protocols require that all standards be reviewed at least every five years to determine whether they should be confirmed, revised or withdrawn, ISO’s Technical Committee TC 176, for publication in the year 2008, is currently revising the 2008 versions of the ISO 9000 series.

The current ISO 9000 series, which comprises many standards, will be reduced to three quality management systems standards only:

  • ISO 9000:2005 (QMS - Fundamentals and vocabulary)
  • ISO 9001:2008 (QMS - Requirements)
  • ISO 9004:2009 (QMS - Guidance for performance improvement)

These will be complemented by a number of additional standards (auditing), technical reports (software), and/or brochures (principles) to address specific issues.

There is only be one QMS requirement (conformance) standard - ISO 9001, which will replace the current ISO 9001,. ISO 9004 is the QMS standard, which will drive organizations towards business performance improvement and will form a consistent pair with ISO 9001 with the same sequence and numbering.

The standards are compatible with the environmental management standards; will be readily applied to small, medium and large organizations in the public and private sectors, and equally applicable to users in manufacturing, service and software and related fields.

The new ISO 9001 is being developed based on a process model using eight quality management principles facilitating an evolution towards business excellence and with an emphasis on customer satisfaction. ISO 9004 uses the same process model and quality management principles, but has an emphasis on satisfying the needs of other interested parties through sustained customer satisfaction.

The revision reflects the evolving quality management practice but retains the essential elements of the current (2008) edition. The typical documentation structure that most companies follow includes a manual (the “why”), several procedures (the “what”), and a series of work instruction (the “how”) supported by the various forms and lists which make up the records (audit evidence).

Information is being made readily available during the revision process because of the importance of this revision and its implications for organizations worldwide. Organizations should be wary of acting upon information received from channels other than official ISO or National Standards Bodies (NIST, ANSI), and need to realize that the consensus process is incomplete at this time.

This information will be updated periodically as the revision process progresses through the Committee Draft stages, to the Draft International Standards, and finally the publication of the Standards themselves. Registrars are planning transition guidance (upgrades) for organizations currently certified to the current standards.


  • Principle 1 – Customer-Focused Organization
  • Principle 2 – Leadership
  • Principle 3 – Involvement of People
  • Principle 4 – Process Approach
  • Principle 5 – System Approach to Management
  • Principle 6 – Continual Improvement
  • Principle 7 – Factual approach to decision making
  • Principle 8 – Mutually beneficial supplier relationships

Most companies take between six months and eighteen months to effectively implement a quality management system, which follows the ISO 9001:2008 requirements. It is often very beneficial for these companies to utilize an outside source for expertise and implementation assistance.

The following Products and Services are available to you through Maset:

We offer an extensive array of both on-site & public courses in addition to customized courses.

We offer consultancy ranging from remote planning to dedicated on-site support for our clients.

  • ISO 9001:2000 Transition 
  • Baseline Assessments    
  • Internal Audit Support    
  • Documentation Review    
  • Implementation Support    
  • Practice Assessments    
  • Staff Development/Training
  • Executive Management Counseling

MASET, LLC    P. O. Box 11663    Chandler, AZ 85248
Phone: 602-721-3680     Fax 480-802-4710

Products & Services |  Training & Workshops |  Articles & Case Studies |  About Maset
Diagnostic Tools |  Maset News |  Email |  Home |  Copyright & Legal Information